Embarking on a transformative journey of self-discovery, we unravel the diverse and enlightening tapestry of self-care with an exploration into the myriad types of yoga. Each of which are a unique portal to spiritual growth and holistic well-being.

As we step onto the sacred mat, we encounter a myriad of paths, each offering a unique portal to connect with the divine within.


Today, on our Friday Yoga series, let’s embark on a contemplative journey as we delve into the profound realms of different types of yoga.

Consider each type a thread in the intricate tapestry of our spiritual odyssey.

Before we get started, grab your free ebook: A Guide to Spiritual Growth and Self Care.

Types of Yoga

While there exist numerous forms and styles, we have chosen to illuminate the essence of the 13 most widely practiced types of yoga.

Each of these paths represents a unique avenue for individuals to connect with their inner selves, fostering physical well-being, mental clarity, and spiritual growth.

By exploring the popular 13 types of yoga, we embark on a transformative odyssey, navigating the flowing currents of knowledge and unlocking the timeless wisdom embedded in these ancient practices.

1. Hatha Yoga: The Harmony of Opposites

In the gentle dance of sun and moon within us, Hatha Yoga emerges as the balancer of opposites.

Through deliberate postures (asanas) and breath control (pranayama), practitioners find equilibrium, aligning the physical body with the subtle energies.

Hatha, the union of sun (ha) and moon (tha), invites us to explore the harmony that lies at the intersection of effort and surrender.

2. Bhakti Yoga: The Path of Devotion

In the rhythm of the heart’s beats, Bhakti Yoga unfolds—a celebration of love, devotion, and surrender to the divine.

Through prayers, chanting, and selfless acts, practitioners cultivate a deep connection with the sacred.

Bhakti, the yoga of devotion, transcends rituals; it’s an immersion into the boundless ocean of love that unites all beings.

3. Jnana Yoga: The Wisdom of the Intellect

For those drawn to the endless expanse of knowledge, Jnana Yoga illuminates the path of wisdom.

Through contemplation, self-inquiry, and the pursuit of knowledge, practitioners unravel the layers of illusion, revealing the eternal truth that resides within.

Jnana, the yoga of knowledge, invites us to discern the real from the transient, leading to profound self-realization.


4. Karma Yoga: The Yoga of Selfless Action

In the selfless dance of giving, Karma Yoga takes center stage.

Through acts of kindness, generosity, and service to others, practitioners dissolve the ego, recognizing the interconnectedness of all life.

Karma, the yoga of action, transforms everyday deeds into sacred offerings, paving the way for spiritual evolution through altruism.

5. Kundalini Yoga: Awakening the Serpent Power

At the core of our being lies a dormant serpent, and Kundalini Yoga aims to awaken this potent energy.

Through dynamic movements, breathwork, and meditation, practitioners unlock the chakras, allowing the serpent of energy to ascend, bestowing enlightenment and a profound connection to the divine.

Through the guidance of my dear friend, I have recently ventured into the world of kundalini yoga.

Although I am still at the start of this journey, it is without doubt I feel absolutely amazing after doing kundalini exercises.

6. Ashtanga Yoga: The Eight-Limbed Path

Rooted in the ancient teachings of Patanjali, Ashtanga Yoga is a disciplined practice that follows the eight limbs of yoga, incorporating breath (pranayama), postures (asanas), and meditation.

Ashtanga yoga offers a systematic approach to spiritual growth.

7. Yin Yoga: Embracing Stillness

Yin Yoga is a slow-paced practice that involves holding passive poses for an extended duration. It targets the deep connective tissues, promoting flexibility and a meditative state.

Yin Yoga encourages practitioners to embrace stillness and turn inward.


8. Iyengar Yoga: Precision and Alignment

Founded by B.K.S. Iyengar, this form of yoga emphasizes precise alignment in postures using props like belts and blocks.

Iyengar Yoga promotes strength, flexibility, and stability, making it accessible to individuals of all ages and abilities.

9. Anusara Yoga: The Heart-Opening Practice

Anusara Yoga blends a focus on alignment with a celebration of the heart.

It encourages practitioners to open their hearts both physically and spiritually, fostering a sense of joy and interconnectedness.

10. Restorative Yoga: Nurturing Relaxation

Restorative Yoga is a gentle practice that utilizes props to support the body in relaxing poses.

It aims to activate the parasympathetic nervous system, promoting deep relaxation and stress relief.

11. Laughter Yoga: Joyful Expression

Laughter Yoga combines laughter exercises with yogic breathing techniques.

Founded on the belief that laughter is a powerful tool for promoting well-being, this practice encourages joy and playfulness.

12. Sivananda Yoga: Wholesome Living

Based on the teachings of Swami Sivananda, this style of yoga focuses on five key principles: proper exercise, proper breathing, proper relaxation, proper diet, and positive thinking and meditation.

It offers a holistic approach to spiritual living.

13. AcroYoga: Fusion of Yoga and Acrobatics

AcroYoga combines elements of yoga, acrobatics, and Thai massage.

Practiced in pairs or groups, it fosters trust, communication, and connection between participants.


As we navigate these diverse paths, let us remember that each yogic journey is uniquely personal.

Whether you find solace in the graceful flow of Hatha, surrender in the devotion of Bhakti, seek wisdom through Jnana, serve selflessly in Karma, or awaken the dormant energy in Kundalini—know that the essence of yoga transcends the physical, leading us towards the universal truth that resides within.

Before you go, here are more posts you’ll enjoy:

Free ebook: A Guide to Spiritual Growth and Self Care.

Rivers of Wisdom Meditation Series Introduction

The Universal Laws of Spirituality

Intro to the Dream Interpretation Series


Types of Yoga